CAPE ROYALE UTILITY DISTRICT



TELEPHONE: (936) 653-4861 EMAIL: WATER@EASTEX.NET

Public Meeting Minutes

The board of directors (The Board of Cape Royale Utility District of San Jacinto County, Texas) held a board meeting on April 18th, 2024 at 3:00 pm at the district conference room, 1330 Cape Royale Drive, Coldspring, San Jacinto County, Texas.

Present from the Board: Dale Toronjo, Richard Masterson, Alex Onjanow, Lynn Watkins, and Douglas Pulgini. Present from the District: Michael Piles, Michael Jacobs, Heather McCann.

- 1. Call to order at 3:00 pm by Dale Toronjo
- 2. Visitor(s) were from the Cape Royale Area Volunteer Fire Department, Elgean Shields.
- 3. The minutes of the previous board meeting were reviewed and approved as written.
- 4. There were no customer comments.
- 5. The annual Cybersecurity Training for employees has been completed and relevant documents have been submitted to legal, Smith, Murdaugh, Little & Bonham, LLP.
- 6. Michael Piles presented the General Managers Report with the status of the new Distribution Line Upgrade Project. The contractor's bid package is nearing completion and ready for review in the 3rd week of May.
- Michael Piles advised the Board that a resident's claim for bulkhead damages has been submitted to CRUD for review. The insurance company has been notified and investigation of the matter is ongoing.
- 8. The 2025 CRUD Budget review has commenced and there were no other particular issues.
- 9. Michael Jacobs presented the Field Operations Report. EFS has nearly completed the replacement of all lift station control panels and pumps. There were no further notable issues.
- 10. Heather McCann presented the March Tax Assessor's/Collector Report with a 2023 collection rate of 87.62% and net deposits of \$951,129.77.
- 11. Heather McCann presented the March 2024 Bookkeeper's Report with no particular issues.
- 12. There was no other pending business.
- 13. The meeting was adjourned by Dale Toronjo at 3:40 pm
- 14. The next meeting will be held on May 16th, 2024 at 3:00 pm.
- 15. There was an Executive Session which convened at 3:42 pm.
- 16. The Executive Session adjourned at 4:05 pm.

Minutes submitted by Doug Pulgini